Header image.

NCAA Women's Basketball Rules Test

Review NCAA Women's basketball rules test questions and answers by season. These tests are required for official basketball referee certification and cover key rules, procedures, and officiating mechanics.


Select Season
Question 1

A foul shall be ruled when a defensive post player does not immediately assume a legal position once the offensive post player gains control of the ball. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

In the post, officials are instructed to rule a foul when the defender fails to promptly establish legal position after the offensive post gains control.

Rules Book References

Appendix II — Officiating Guidelines (Post Play)

Item 6

"A foul shall be ruled when a defensive post player does not immediately assume a legal position once the offensive post player gains control of the ball."

Page 114

Final Ruling: TRUE — A foul must be ruled if the defender does not immediately assume a legal position once the offensive post controls the ball.
Question 2

Near the end of the fourth quarter, with the score tied, A1's try for goal in the corner is released near the expiration of time on the game clock. Time expires near the time the ball enters the basket. The try is successful. The officials use the available replay system and determine that the try was released before zeroes on the game clock, but the last foot of the shooter was touching out of bounds with 0.7 seconds on the game clock before the foot left the floor; however, when the ball passed through the basket, 0.1 seconds were remaining in the quarter. Which of the following statements is true?

A) The officials cannot penalize the out-of-bounds violation. The goal counts. Play resumes with a throw-in by Team B from any point outside the end line. The game clock shall be set to 0.1 seconds. Team B may not use a timeout to advance the ball to either 28-foot spot in the frontcourt.
B) The officials cannot penalize the out-of-bounds violation. The goal counts. Play resumes with a throw-in by Team B from any point outside the end line. The game clock shall be set to 0.1 seconds. Team B may use a timeout to advance the ball to either 28-foot spot in the frontcourt.
C) The officials cancel the goal. Play resumes with overtime.
D) The officials cancel the goal. Play resumes with a throw-in by Team B from a designated spot where A1 was out of bounds. The game clock is set to 0.7 seconds.
E) The officials cancel the goal. Play resumes with a throw-in by Team B from a designated spot where A1 was out of bounds. The game clock is set to 0.1 seconds.

Explanation

Because replay shows A1 was out of bounds BEFORE becoming airborne, the try is illegal and the score is canceled. Award Team B a designated-spot throw-in where the violation occurred and correct the game clock to the time of the violation (0.7).

Rules Book References

Rule 11 (Replay) – end-of-period reviews; last-foot OOB on last shot

11-2.1.a.1 / 11-3.1.q (as adopted in women's rules)

"Officials may review a last-second shot to determine whether the shooter's last foot prior to leaving the floor was out of bounds before release; if so, the goal shall be canceled."

Page 104

Rule 7-3.2 – Spot of throw-in after violation

Designated-spot nearest the violation

"Following a violation, the throw-in shall be from the designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred."

Page 69

Case Book References

A.R. 5–26 – Timing mistakes—correcting the game clock

Clock corrections may be made when officials can determine the proper time to place on the game clock.

Case Book, p. 48

Final Ruling: Cancel the basket; Team B designated-spot throw-in at the OOB location with 0.7 on the game clock.
Question 3

During a missed try by Team B, A1 is injured behind the play. A2 quickly dribbles the ball into their team's frontcourt and drives to the basket, attempting to score. The officials permit play to continue until Team A ceases to try to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Officials should not stop an imminent scoring opportunity to address an injury behind the play unless safety requires it. They may stop once the advantage ends.

Rules Book References

Rule 5-11 – Stopping play / timeouts

5-11.2 & 5-11.6 (injury and official's stoppage)

"Officials may stop play for injury; however, they should consider advantage and may allow an immediate scoring opportunity to complete if safe."

Page 40

Case Book References

A.R. 5–24 – Official stops play for injury (timing/advantage)

No timeout is charged when the official stops for injury; resume when appropriate. Consider advantage before stopping.

Case Book, p. 47

Final Ruling: Correct—allow the immediate scoring opportunity, then stop if needed.
Question 4

With 1:02 remaining in the fourth quarter, B1, located in Team B's backcourt, steals the ball from A1. B1 dribbles twice and then passes to B2, who is also located in Team B's backcourt. B2 is still holding the ball when, with 58.6 remaining on the game clock, A3 and B3, located at the top of the key in Team B's frontcourt, are charged with a double foul. There are 27 seconds on the shot clock. Which of the following is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Since B1 has dribbled and passed, Team B has lost the option to advance the ball.
B) Since A3's foul is part of a double foul, Team B does not regain the option to advance.
C) Team B may request a timeout and exercise the option to advance the ball.
D) As the double foul was committed in Team B's frontcourt, play will resume with a designated-spot throw-in to Team B at the nearest of the "four spots" to where the double foul occurred.
E) If Team B does not choose to advance, play will resume with a designated-spot throw-in nearest to where the ball was located when the foul occurred.
F) If they are not permitted to or do not choose to advance the ball, Team B would have 10 seconds to gain frontcourt status.
G) If they are not permitted to or do not choose to advance the ball, Team B would have 7 seconds to gain frontcourt status.
H) The shot clock is reset to 30 seconds.
I) The shot clock remains at 27 seconds.

Explanation

A double foul results in a point-of-interruption (POI) resumption. Team B retains the ball in the backcourt with the **remaining** 10-second count (about 7 seconds left). Team B may take a timeout to advance; absent advancement, resume with a designated-spot throw-in near the **ball's** location when play stopped. The shot clock is not reset on a double foul with continuous team control.

Rules Book References

Rule 6-4 – Double fouls; resumption

6-4.1 (POI after double fouls)

"After a double foul, play shall be resumed at the point of interruption."

Page 41

Rule 7-3.2 – Throw-in location

Nearest the ball when play stopped (POI)

"When resuming at POI, use the designated spot throw-in nearest where the ball was located."

Page 69

Final Ruling: Correct choices are C, E, G, I: Team B may timeout to advance; otherwise resume at POI nearest the ball with ~7 seconds remaining on the 10-second count; shot clock stays at 27.
Question 5

A1 drives toward the basket defended by B1. At the end of the drive, B1 goes down to the floor. The Referee gives the faking being fouled signal for B1's actions while the Umpire 2 signals an offensive foul on A1. Until this point in the game, neither team has been warned for faking being fouled. Which of the following is the correct adjudication?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) The Referee's ruling takes precedence over the Umpire 2's ruling.
B) The officials shall discuss the play and give the ruling to the official in whose primary coverage area the play originated. When a foul is ruled on the play, the officials shall still warn B1 for faking being fouled.
C) The officials shall discuss the play and give the ruling to the official in whose primary coverage area the play originated. When a foul is ruled on the play, a warning for faking being fouled cannot be issued.

Explanation

Conflicting signals are resolved by crew communication and honoring primary coverage. If a foul is ultimately ruled on the play, you do not also issue a faking-being-fouled warning on that same play.

Rules Book References

Rule 2 – Officials and their duties

Primary/secondary coverage and crew communication

"When officials have differing rulings, they must confer and accept the ruling from the official with primary coverage."

Page 33

Rule 10 – Class B technical / warnings

Faking being fouled (warning protocol)

"Warnings for faking are tracked; if a foul is ruled on the play, a faking warning is not also issued for that same action."

Page 88

Final Ruling: Discuss and accept the PCA official's ruling; if a foul is ruled, no separate fake-warning is issued on that same sequence.
Question 6

When a Rule 10-10.5 foul is used to tactically or strategically foul, provided the illegal contact does not negate the opponent's advantageous position nor is it excessive, hard, and/or unnecessary, it is to be ruled a personal foul. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

The 2025-26 update clarifies that non-excessive, tactical fouls that do not negate an opponent's advantage are penalized as common personal fouls.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-10.5.c – Personal fouls (ball handler/dribbler contact standard)

2025-26 change

"Permits more than one brief 'hot stove' touch and clarifies common vs. excessive/illegal contact distinctions."

Page 88

Final Ruling: True—penalize as a personal foul unless the contact is excessive/hard or negates clear advantage.
Question 7

A1 ends their dribble on their right foot. They jump off that foot and land at approximately the same time on both feet (left foot then right foot). Which of the following is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) A1 committed a traveling violation.
B) This is a legal play.
C) A1 has no pivot foot.
D) A1 may pivot using their left foot.

Explanation

The 2025-26 travel change allows a jump stop/step back when both feet land at approximately the same time. Here, the landing is sequential (left then right), so it's a travel. Because of the hop-sequence, no pivot foot is available.

Rules Book References

Rule 9-5.4.a.3 & 9-5.4.b.2 – Traveling

2025-26 adjustment for jump stop/step back

"Permits landing on both feet at approximately the same time on certain plays; sequential landings remain illegal."

Page 79

Final Ruling: Travel (A) and no pivot foot (C) are correct.
Question 8

With less than one minute remaining in the game, A1 scores. Team B's head coach requests and is granted a timeout to advance the ball to the 28-foot mark in their frontcourt. Which of the following is true?

A) The shot clock is reduced to 20 seconds.
B) The shot clock remains at 30 seconds.

Explanation

By 2025-26 rule, a frontcourt throw-in following a dead ball is set to 20 seconds. Advancing via timeout to the 28-foot mark triggers the 20-second shot clock.

Rules Book References

Rule 2-11.6.d – Shot clock administration

2025-26 change

"Set the shot clock to 20 seconds when, following a dead ball, the offense is awarded the ball for a throw-in in its frontcourt."

Page 35

Final Ruling: Set to 20 seconds when Team B advances to the frontcourt via timeout.
Question 9

Double personal fouls are the same as fouls of equal gravity. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

A double personal foul is defined by *opponents committing personal fouls at approximately the same time*—not by whether the fouls have equal severity.

Rules Book References

Rule 4 – Definitions (Double Foul)

4-18 / 4-37 (women's numbering; double foul concept)

"A double foul occurs when opponents commit fouls at approximately the same time."

Page 36

Final Ruling: False—'equal gravity' is not part of the double-foul definition.
Question 10

Whether the game clock is running or is stopped has no influence on the counting of a goal. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Clock status and timing corrections can affect whether a try counts (e.g., if time expired before release or if a timing mistake is corrected).

Rules Book References

Rule 5-1 & 5-10 – Scoring and timing corrections

Try must be released before expiration; timing mistakes may be corrected

"Officials may correct timing errors when determinable; a try counts only if released before expiration."

Page 39

Case Book References

A.R. 5–25 – Timer fails to start/stop—when corrections are permitted

Outlines when timing mistakes can be corrected relative to a subsequent dead ball and whether a score should stand.

Case Book, p. 48

Final Ruling: False—clock operation and correctable timing errors can impact whether a goal counts.
Question 11

Team rosters (names and numbers) and starters must be written in the official scorebook by the 10-minute mark on the pregame clock. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

By rule, each team must supply its roster and designated starters to the official scorer no later than 10 minutes before the scheduled start of the game.

Rules Book References

Rule 3-1.3

Team rosters and starters

"Each team shall supply the names and numbers of players and the five designated starters to the official scorer by the 10-minute mark before the game."

Page 22

Final Ruling: True — failure to provide by 10 minutes is a technical foul on the head coach.
Question 12

A defender is permitted more than one measure-up, or 'hot-stove', touch, provided this contact does not affect the dribbler's freedom of movement. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

The 2025-26 update to Rule 10-10.5 clarifies that multiple brief 'measure-up' touches are legal if they do not impede the dribbler.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-10.5 (b–c)

Ball-handler contact

"Permits more than one instant touch when it does not affect rhythm, speed, balance or quickness."

Page 87

Final Ruling: True — multiple 'hot-stove' touches are legal unless they impede movement.
Question 13

With 59.6 seconds remaining, A1 fakes being fouled (first fake). Officials signal the warning; play continues and a goal follows. When is the warning reported to the scorer?

A) Immediately
B) After B1's basket
C) After A2's basket
D) After Team B's timeout

Explanation

Officials record the warning at the next dead-ball opportunity after the ongoing play concludes.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-12.3 Note

"Warnings for faking being fouled shall be reported to the scorer at the next dead-ball opportunity."

Page 91

Case Book References

A.R. 10-21 – Timing of recording faking warnings

Warning is entered following completion of the live-ball sequence.

Case Book, p. 102

Final Ruling: Officials report the warning after completing the timeout administration.
Question 14

Team A has control in the frontcourt when dribbler A1 steps on the division line (backcourt violation). Which is true?

A) Team B throw-in nearest violation
B) Nearest 'four-spots'
C) Shot clock 30
D) Shot clock 20

Explanation

A backcourt violation results in a designated-spot throw-in nearest the violation and the shot clock resets to 30 seconds.

Rules Book References

Rule 9-9.1 & 7-3.2

"Stepping on the mid-court line in team control is backcourt; resume with throw-in nearest violation."

Page 72

Rule 2-11.6 (a)

"Following a violation, shot clock resets to 30 seconds."

Page 35

Final Ruling: Correct choices A and C.
Question 15

May officials use replay on their own when, after ruling a backcourt violation, they doubt the accuracy?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Replay for out-of-bounds and backcourt determinations requires a head-coach appeal under Rule 11-3. Officials cannot self-initiate review for that specific situation.

Rules Book References

Rule 11-3.1 (e)

"Replay may be used only upon a coach's appeal to determine last-touch/out-of-bounds violations."

Page 103

Final Ruling: False — officials may not self-initiate replay for a backcourt call.
Question 16

When screening a moving opponent, it does not matter whether the screen is within or outside the opponent's visual field.

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

When screening outside the visual field of a moving opponent, the screener must allow time and distance for avoidance.

Rules Book References

Rule 4-38.2 & 4-38.4

"Time and distance apply when screening a moving opponent outside their visual field."

Page 38

Final Ruling: False — time and distance depend on visual field.
Question 17

A1 and B1 fight; A2 grabs B1 and pulls them away. What is correct?

A) Flagrant 2 and suspension
B) Flagrant 2 no suspension
C) No penalty

Explanation

A2's action is preventive, not participation in the fight, provided no violent contact occurs.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-5.4 (b)

"Bench personnel or players who leave the bench or participate are penalized; attempts to prevent a fight are not."

Page 83

Case Book References

A.R. 10-9

Pulling an opponent away to prevent escalation is not penalized.

Case Book, p. 96

Final Ruling: No penalty on A2.
Question 18

Lead official rules OOB but believes clock didn't stop; replay shows contact 24.3 → signal 23.7 → clock stopped properly. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

If replay confirms the clock stopped correctly after the signal, there is no timing mistake.

Rules Book References

Rule 11-2.1 (f)

"Officials may review for potential timing errors; no correction if the clock stopped properly."

Page 103

Final Ruling: Yes — no adjustment needed.
Question 19

During play, A1's pass hits Team B's head coach on sideline. Officials:

A) Bench T
B) Administrative T
C) Ball dead → A throw-in

Explanation

Unintentional contact by a coach who is in the coaching box is not a technical foul; the ball is dead and awarded back to the offended team.

Rules Book References

Rule 2-8.1 & 7-3.2

"When an external interference (coach) contacts a live ball, rule the ball dead and resume with throw-in to the offended team."

Page 33

Case Book References

A.R. 7-14

Coach inadvertently hit by ball → dead ball → throw-in to the passing team.

Case Book, p. 71

Final Ruling: Ball dead — Team A throw-in nearest spot.
Question 20

Headbands and wristbands have the same maximum width.

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Uniform adornments such as headbands and wristbands share the same maximum width of 2 inches.

Rules Book References

Rule 1-22 & App. IV

"Headbands and wristbands shall not exceed 2 inches (5 cm) in width and must be the same color."

Page 18

Final Ruling: True — both limited to 2-inch maximum width.
Question 21

Replay may only be used to determine which team caused the ball to be out of bounds when the officials' ruling is appealed by a head coach. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

That statement is too narrow. Coaches may appeal several rulings (not only out-of-bounds), and replay is also available to officials on their own for other categories (e.g., certain flagrant evaluations, timing/scoring).

Rules Book References

Rule 11 — Replay

Coach's Appeals scope

"Coaches may appeal OOB, backcourt, team-control-change-before-foul (if it affects FTs), and whether the foul was charged to the correct individual; unsuccessful appeals carry timeout/penalty mechanics."

Page 104

Final Ruling: False. Replay isn't limited only to coach-appealed out-of-bounds; multiple coach-appeal categories exist, and officials still have independent replay authority for other items.
Question 22

A1 fouls B1, and the Lead rules a personal foul. Team B's head coach now says it's more than a personal. The officials may not use replay of their own volition; any replay must be through an appeal by the head coach. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

In this specific situation, officials should not initiate a review merely to appease the coach; it must be via a coach's appeal. But the blanket claim that replay must always be by appeal is incorrect—officials retain independent replay authority in other categories (e.g., certain flagrant/contact reviews).

Rules Book References

Rule 11 — Replay

Coach's Appeals vs. officials' own reviews

"Officials cannot use replay on their own for coach-appeal categories like OOB/backcourt/team-control change; they can still use replay on their own for other items."

Page 104

Case Book References

A.R. 4–2 (Appeal) – Coach requests a review to upgrade a personal foul

Officials shall not use replay on their own; if the coach wants a review, they must appeal and accept the timeout risk.

Case Book, p. 32

Final Ruling: No. In this play, a coach's appeal is required; however, the general statement that replay must always be by appeal is incorrect.
Question 23

Players A1 and A5 do not have their game jerseys tucked into their game shorts. The officials rule this is legal. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Beginning in 2025-26, the rule requiring jerseys to be tucked is removed.

Rules Book References

Rule 1 — Court and Equipment (Uniforms)

1-22 (2025-26 Rules Change)

"Uniforms: Rule 1-22.10 — eliminate the requirement that game jerseys be tucked."

Page 16

Final Ruling: Yes. With the 2025-26 rules change, untucked jerseys are permitted.
Question 24

A1 jumps into the air to catch a pass from A2. A1 lands on one foot, jumps off that foot, and lands at approximately the same time on both feet (left foot then right foot). Which of the following is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Traveling.
B) Legal play.
C) A1 has no pivot foot.
D) A1 may pivot using left foot.

Explanation

The updated traveling rule allows a jump stop/step-back landing with both feet at approximately the same time; after such a landing, no pivot foot is established.

Rules Book References

Rule 4 — Definitions (Traveling/Jump Stop fundamentals)

Pivot/Jump Stop principles (2025-26 Rules Change)

"Traveling — Rule 9-5.4.a.3 and b.2: permit landing on both feet at approximately the same time on a jump stop/step back. Jump stop resulting in two feet landing together (or approximately together) yields no pivot."

Page 47

Final Ruling: Legal play; no pivot foot is established after the approximate-simultaneous two-foot landing.
Question 25

A1, behind the three-point line, begins the act of shooting when B2 fouls A2 off the ball. The try is successful. Team A is not in the bonus and the shot clock shows 19. Which is correct?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Goal counts
B) Goal does not count
C) Team A awarded 3 free throws
D) Team A awarded 2 free throws
E) Team A throw-in at the spot nearest the foul
F) Team A throw-in at the spot nearest where A1 shot
G) Team B throw-in
H) Shot clock to 30 seconds
I) Shot clock to 19 seconds

Explanation

When the defensive team commits an off-ball common foul during a legal try that is released and scores, the goal counts. Because Team A is not in the bonus, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul, and—since it's a frontcourt throw-in following a dead ball—the shot clock is set to 20 seconds.

Rules Book References

Rule 2-11.6.d — Shot-Clock Operator Duties

Frontcourt throw-in after dead ball (2025-26 Rules Change)

"Set the shot clock to 20 seconds when, following a dead ball, the offense is awarded the ball for a throw-in in their frontcourt. Confirms the 20-second reset on frontcourt throw-ins after a dead ball."

Page 33

Case Book References

A.R. 11–6 – Off-ball foul during a try; counting/canceling and administration

Addresses whether the goal counts and subsequent administration when the foul is by/against a teammate of the shooter. Replay administration regarding off-ball fouls during scoring sequences—count/cancel timing must be reviewed immediately.

Case Book, p. 120

Final Ruling: Correct options: (A) Goal counts; (E) Team A throw-in at the spot nearest the foul; (J) Shot clock to 20 seconds.
Question 26

While dribbling in their backcourt, A1 has the ball stolen by B1. The shot clock shall be set to ______ seconds once B1 has control of the ball.

A) 10 seconds
B) 20 seconds
C) 30 seconds
D) Shot clock does not reset

Explanation

Any live-ball change of team control resets the shot clock to 30 seconds.

Rules Book References

Rule 2-11.6.b.1 — Shot-Clock Operator Duties

Reset on live-ball control change

"Reset to 30 seconds when the defending team secures control of the ball during play."

Page 33

Final Ruling: Set to 30 seconds upon B1 gaining control.
Question 27

Team A wears uniforms with a white neutral zone and red/blue panels. A1 wears black tights under shorts, A2 wears a red arm sleeve, A3 wears a blue knee sleeve. The officials rule this is legal. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Beginning in 2025-26, undergarments (tights) and knee/leg sleeves on a team must be the SAME legal color; here, the knee sleeve (blue) and tights (black) are not the same color across teammates.

Rules Book References

Rule 1 — Court and Equipment (Supplemental Apparel)

1-23 (2025-26 Rules Change)

"Rule 1-23.2 & .6 — require that undergarments (tights) and knee/leg sleeves are the same legal color. Team supplemental apparel color requirements."

Page 16

Final Ruling: No. The mix of black tights, red arm sleeve, and blue knee sleeve violates the same-color requirement for tights and knee/leg sleeves.
Question 28

Before the game, officials notice A1 has a bandage on their nose. The officials ask A1 to remove it to ensure no jewelry; A1 refuses. Officials inform A1 and the head coach that until the officials can determine A1 is not wearing jewelry, A1 may not participate. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Officials must not permit illegal/dangerous equipment or jewelry. If they cannot verify compliance, the player cannot participate until corrected/confirmed.

Rules Book References

Rule 1 — Court and Equipment (Players' Equipment)

Referee authority

"Referee shall not permit equipment judged dangerous/illegal to be worn."

Page 16

Case Book References

A.R. 2–5 – Pre-game equipment/jewelry inspection & participation

Player prohibited from participation until equipment/jewelry issue is resolved.

Case Book, p. 112

Final Ruling: Yes. Until officials can verify no jewelry/illegal equipment, A1 may not participate.
Question 29

When an official is unsure whether A1 committed a charge on B1 or B1 failed to obtain legal guarding position (block), the official shall default to a blocking foul. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

There is no 'default to block' provision. Officials must apply guarding principles: to draw a player-control foul, the guard must have established legal guarding position (both feet on the floor, torso facing, and—if airborne opponent—established before the opponent left the floor). Absent that, contact responsibility is adjudicated by those criteria, not by a default rule.

Rules Book References

Rule 10 — Fouls and Penalties (Guarding/VERTICALITY)

Legal guarding position requirements

"To obtain initial legal guarding position on a player with the ball: feet on court, torso facing, no time/distance; if opponent is airborne, the guard must obtain position before the opponent left the floor."

Page 89

Case Book References

A.R. 10–6 – Block/charge responsibility with ball handler

Outlines factors for responsibility; no 'default' to block.

Case Book, p. 96

Final Ruling: No. Apply guarding criteria; there is no rule to default to a block.
Question 30

When obtaining a legal guarding position on a player with the ball, the guard must:

A) obtain position before the upward shooting motion
B) before the plant foot lands
C) before the offensive player leaves the court with both feet
D) before the first of the offensive player's feet leaves the court

Explanation

For a player with the ball who becomes airborne, the defender must have obtained legal guarding position before the opponent left the playing court.

Rules Book References

Rule 10 — Section 4 (Guarding), Art. 4.d

Legal guarding vs. airborne opponent

"When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have obtained legal guarding position before the opponent left the playing court."

Page 89

Final Ruling: C) Obtain position before the offensive player leaves the playing court with both feet.
Question 31

Team A's bench personnel physically help A1 stay inbounds after saving a loose ball. The officials call a violation on Team A for out of bounds. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Beginning 2025-26, this is a team technical foul if bench personnel physically assist a player with the ball, not merely a violation.

Rules Book References

Rule 7 — Out of Bounds (2025-26 Rules Change)

7-1.1

"Bench personnel who physically assist a player with the ball shall be penalized with a technical foul. Defines player, ball, and bench involvement in out-of-bounds situations."

Page 69

Final Ruling: False. The proper ruling is a team technical foul, not a simple out-of-bounds violation.
Question 32

A1 is bleeding and has blood on their uniform. The officials allow 20 seconds for correction before requiring substitution. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Rule allows 20 seconds to correct a blood issue before the player must be replaced.

Rules Book References

Rule 3-6.3

"Bleeding players have 20 seconds to resolve the issue; otherwise, substitution is required."

Page 30

Case Book References

A.R. 3-33

Timeout use and re-entry eligibility for a bleeding player.

Case Book, p. 30

Final Ruling: Yes. Officials correctly applied the 20-second blood rule.
Question 33

Team A changes uniform numbers in the scorebook after the 10-minute mark but before playing. What is the penalty?

A) Bench technical foul
B) Administrative technical foul
C) No penalty
D) Player disqualification

Explanation

Changing numbers after the 10-minute mark triggers an administrative technical foul.

Rules Book References

Rule 3-4.2 and 10-12.2.b Penalty

"Uniform/scorebook number discrepancies penalized as administrative technical fouls."

Page 37

Final Ruling: Administrative technical on Team A.
Question 34

A1, while airborne, contacts B1 in the restricted-area arc. B1 has legal guarding position outside the arc. Is this a player-control foul?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Restricted-area protection applies only when the defender is in the arc. Here B1 is outside the arc and has LGP, so the contact is a charge.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-4.d

"A defender outside the restricted-area arc who has legal guarding position is entitled to verticality."

Page 89

Final Ruling: Yes. Player-control foul on A1.
Question 35

A1 drives into the lane; B1 has both feet on the floor facing A1, but slides laterally at contact. Is B1's movement legal?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Once LGP is established, the defender may move laterally or backward to maintain it.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-4.b.2

"Legal guarding position may be maintained by lateral/backward movement."

Page 89

Final Ruling: Yes, lateral movement is allowed after establishing LGP.
Question 36

A1 sets a moving screen while contact occurs. The official calls a team-control foul. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Illegal screen by the offense is a team-control foul.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-7.2

"Team-control fouls include illegal screens by the offensive team."

Page 91

Case Book References

A.R. 10-8

Offensive screen contact adjudicated as team-control foul.

Case Book, p. 96

Final Ruling: Yes. Correctly a team-control foul.
Question 37

B1 lightly places two hands momentarily on the dribbler. The official rules no foul. Correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

2025-26 revision allows multiple 'hot-stove' touches if they don't impede the dribbler.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-10.5.c (2025-26 Rules Change)

"Permits more than one brief touch if not impeding rhythm, speed, balance, or quickness."

Page 87

Final Ruling: Yes. Multiple brief touches are legal under the new rule.
Question 38

A1 commits their fifth personal foul and must leave. The substitute reports but before beckoned, Team B requests a timeout. May A1 stay in the game?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

A disqualified player must leave immediately; timeout by the opponent does not allow them to stay.

Rules Book References

Rule 3-6.3.d

"Disqualified player must be replaced before the timeout can be granted."

Page 31

Final Ruling: No. A1 must leave; opponent timeout doesn't change substitution requirement.
Question 39

A1 dunked during pregame warm-ups. Is this a team technical foul?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Pre-game dunking is a team technical foul administered at game start.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-12.2.e

"Dunking during warm-ups is a team technical foul."

Page 92

Case Book References

A.R. 10-14

Pre-game dunking adjudicated as team technical.

Case Book, p. 97

Final Ruling: Yes. Team technical foul charged to Team A.
Question 40

A1 commits a disqualifying foul for fighting. The player later participates in the next game. What must occur?

A) No penalty
B) One-game player suspension only
C) One-game head-coach suspension only
D) One-game suspension for both player and head coach

Explanation

Failure to serve required fighting/abuse suspension leads to a one-game suspension for the player and the head coach.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-14 Penalty and 10-15.10 (2025-26 Rules Change)

"Adds a one-game suspension for a player who fails to serve and a one-game suspension for the head coach."

Page 92

Final Ruling: Player and head coach each suspended one game for failure to serve the initial suspension.
Question 41

During A1's interrupted dribble, A1 and B1 give chase after the ball. A1 pushes B1 as B1 is reaching for the ball. Which of the following is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) If the officials rule an offensive foul on A1, Team B's head coach may appeal if they believe B1 had control of the ball when the foul occurred, but only if Team B is in the bonus.
B) If the officials rule a pushing foul on A1, and Team B is in the bonus, Team A's head coach may appeal if they believe that B1 did not have control of the ball, and A1's foul should have been an offensive foul.
C) The officials may use replay on their own to determine whether free throws should be awarded.

Explanation

Under the 2025-26 Coaches' Appeals rule, coaches may appeal whether team control changed before a ruled foul if it could affect the awarding of free throws. Officials cannot use replay on their own for this issue; it must be via a coach's appeal.

Rules Book References

Rule 11-4 (Coaches' Appeals) – 2025-26 Change

"Permits appeals on: (1) out-of-bounds, (2) backcourt, (3) whether team control changed before a ruled foul if it could affect awarding FTs, and (4) whether the foul was charged to the correct individual. Unsuccessful appeals: timeout (or excessive timeout tech if none remaining). Officials cannot review (1)–(3) on their own."

Page 3

Question 42

Team A is granted an excessive timeout after B1 is ruled for a traveling violation. Which of the following is correct?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Team A is assessed an administrative technical foul.
B) Team A is assessed a team technical foul, but only after a warning has been issued.
C) Team A is assessed a team technical foul without warning.
D) Team B is awarded one free throw.
E) Team B is awarded two free throws.
F) Play resumes at the point of interruption.
G) Play resumes with a throw-in by Team B at the point of interruption.
H) Play resumes with a throw-in by Team B at the division line opposite the scorers' table.
I) The technical foul does not count toward Team A's team-foul count.

Explanation

Beginning 2025-26, excessive timeouts are Team Technical fouls (not Administrative). Penalty: two free throws to the opponent, then a throw-in for the offended team at the division line opposite the table. Team technicals count toward the team-foul total. On a backcourt division-line throw-in, the shot clock is set to 30 seconds.

Rules Book References

Rules 10-12.2.f, .g (moved to Team Technical) – 2025-26 Change

"Excessive timeout is categorized as a Team Technical foul (no warning)."

Page 2

Rule 10 (Team/Bench Technicals) – Penalty

Penalty

"Two FTs to the offended team; resume with throw-in at division line opposite the table; counts toward team-foul total."

Page 110

Rule 8-6.1.c

Free Throw—Next Play

"After a bench/team technical, flagrant 1 or 2, resume with a throw-in by the offended team at the division line opposite the table."

Page 78

Rule 2-11.6.d (Duties of the Shot-Clock Operator) – 2025-26 Change

"Frontcourt throw-ins set to 20 seconds; by implication, backcourt/division-line throw-ins remain 30."

Page 2

Question 43

Any team member or bench personnel who are ejected must report to their team's locker room for the remainder of the game. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. Case plays explicitly state that an ejected individual must report to their team's locker room.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-14 (Flagrant 2) – Ejection Penalty

Penalty

"Ejection on F2; case interpretations require reporting to team locker room."

Page 102

Case Book References

A.R. 10-59 / A.R. 10-60 – Ejection procedures

Rulings state the ejected player/personnel must report to their team's locker room.

Case Book, p. 109

Question 44

Dribbler A1 is near their team's bench area when they begin to lose their balance. Player A2 goes out of bounds and, without touching the ball, grabs A1 and prevents them from falling out of bounds. The officials ruled a violation on A2. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

No. This is not a violation; it is a Class B/Team Technical-type action depending on who assists. The 2025-26 change also penalizes bench personnel who physically assist a player to stay inbounds. Prior case plays treat player assistance as a technical (illegal assistance).

Rules Book References

Rule 7-1.1 – 2025-26 Change (Out of Bounds—Player, Ball)

"Penalize bench personnel who physically assist a player with the ball (e.g., prevent them from going out of bounds)."

Page 2

Question 45

When officials notice any player behavior that suggests a concussion, the official should stop play immediately and call an injury timeout so that an appropriate medical examination can be conducted. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. If a student-athlete exhibits signs/symptoms/behaviors consistent with a concussion, the official shall immediately stop play and remove the player for evaluation.

Rules Book References

Rule 8-6 (Free Throw—Next Play) & Medical/Concussion Guidance cross-refs

Administrative sequencing

"Rules framework supports immediate stoppage for safety; NCAA concussion directives require removal and evaluation."

Page 78

Question 46

Team A scores a goal with 53.9 seconds remaining and is immediately granted a timeout. After the timeout, B1's throw-in is intentionally kicked by A1, standing directly in front of the thrower. Which of the following is correct?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Team B's subsequent throw-in may be made from any point outside the end line.
B) Team B's throw-in will be from a designated spot.
C) The game clock shall remain at 53.9 seconds.
D) The game clock shall be set to 53.6 seconds.
E) Team B may request and be granted a timeout to advance the ball.
F) Team B may request and be granted a timeout, but they may not advance the ball.

Explanation

On a made goal, the thrower has end-line running rights. If the defense intentionally kicks the ball during the throw-in, the original end-line 'run-the-end-line' privilege is retained; re-administer from any point on the end line. The game clock has not yet started, so it remains 53.9. Team B can still take a timeout to advance to the 28-foot spot (last 59.9).

Rules Book References

Rule 7-4.6.a.2

"If the ball is intentionally kicked by the defense along the end line during the throw-in, the thrower-in may move and throw-in from any point along the end line."

Page 72

Rule 5-14.2 (Advancing the Ball—Last 59.9 Seconds)

Art. 2

"The team granted the timeout may opt to advance the ball to the 28-foot frontcourt spot."

Page 62

Question 47

A1 is fouled in the act of shooting a two-point try by B1. A1 continued their throwing motion and released the try, which entered the basket. After discussion, the foul was deemed a flagrant 1 foul. Which of the following is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) The ball is immediately dead.
B) Continuous motion applies.
C) A1 is awarded one free throw.
D) A1 is awarded two free throws.
E) Any eligible member of Team A is awarded one free throw.
F) Any eligible member of Team A is awarded two free throws.
G) Team A is awarded the ball at the nearest of the "four spots".
H) Team A is awarded the ball at a designated spot nearest to the location of the foul.
I) Team A is awarded the ball at the division line opposite the scorers' table.

Explanation

Count the goal via continuous motion. Penalty for a Flagrant 1: two free throws to any member of the offended team, then a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. Since that throw-in is a frontcourt throw-in for the offense, the shot clock is set to 20 seconds (2025-26 change).

Rules Book References

Rule 10-13 (Flagrant 1) – Penalty

Penalty

"Two free throws to any member of the offended team; resume with throw-in at division line opposite scorers' table."

Page 101

Rule 2-11.6.d – 2025-26 Change

"Frontcourt throw-ins following dead balls for the offense set the shot clock to 20 seconds."

Page 2

Case Book References

A.R. 10-13 / 10-14 – Sequencing/penalty administration with F1

Confirms F1 penalty administration and division-line throw-in.

Case Book, p. 97

Question 48

When officials observe team members with illegal uniforms, jewelry, noncompliant undershirts, and/or noncompliant sleeves or undergarments, the referee must inform the head coach (or assistant) immediately so the situation can be corrected before the game; an illegal uniform must be reported to the assignor immediately after the game. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. The rules place responsibility on the officiating crew to ensure illegal equipment/apparel is addressed before the game and to notify as required afterward (e.g., illegal uniform). (General equipment enforcement and reporting provisions.)

Rules Book References

Rule 1 (Players' Equipment/Uniforms) — Enforcement & Reporting

"Referee shall not permit dangerous/illegal equipment; notify coach to correct before play; report uniform violations per conference/assignor policy."

Page 10

Question 49

An appeal is a request by a head coach to the officials, which must be honored by the officials, that they believe a correctable error, or timing, scoring, or bookkeeping mistake occurred, or that the officials' ruling in Rule 5-14.e was incorrect. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. The 2025-26 Coaches' Appeals framework defines what may be appealed and requires officials to honor a proper appeal. Unsuccessful appeals: charged timeout (or excessive timeout technical if no timeouts).

Rules Book References

Rule 11-4 – Coaches' Appeals (2025-26)

"Defines permissible appeals and consequences for unsuccessful appeals."

Page 3

Question 50

A1's try for goal is blocked by B1 into Team A's backcourt. When A2 touches the ball in their backcourt, the shot clock displays 13 seconds. Which of the following is true?

A) The shot clock is not reset.
B) The shot clock is reset to 20 seconds.
C) The shot clock is reset to 30 seconds.

Explanation

A defensive block that does not result in defensive team control does not reset the shot clock; Team A's control continues and the shot clock does not reset.

Rules Book References

Rule 2-11.6.d – 2025-26 Shot-Clock Change context

"Reset parameters: offense retains control → no reset; resets occur on change of team control or specified frontcourt throw-ins."

Page 2

Question 51

Dribbler A1 has the ball with their back to the basket outside the lane area. Defender B1 places an extended arm bar on the back of A1. The official immediately rules a foul on B1. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. Rule 10-12.1.c prohibits use of an extended arm bar to impede or displace a dribbler facing or backing to the basket. Contact with an extended arm bar is an illegal use of hands (hand-checking) foul.

Rules Book References

10-12.1.c

"A player shall not place and keep an extended arm bar on an opponent with the ball."

Page 98

Case Book References

A.R. 10-19

Confirms that a hand-checking foul occurs when an extended arm bar is maintained on the dribbler's back.

Case Book, p. 102

Question 52

The play sequence to correct a correctable error is the same whether the game clock is running or stopped when an error occurs. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. The correction sequence for correctable errors follows the same order regardless of clock status—determine error, correct within time frame, resume from POI.

Rules Book References

2-12.1 through 2-12.4

"Outlines identical procedures for all correctable errors; clock status has no bearing on the sequence."

Page 28

Case Book References

A.R. 2-34

Demonstrates identical correction steps whether the clock is stopped or running.

Case Book, p. 33

Question 53

A1 is wearing a clear, narrow, pliable stem in a traditional piercing hole to prevent the hole from closing. The officials rule that this is not permitted. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. Any jewelry, even clear or flexible, is prohibited. Rule 1-19 and Case Book A.R. 1-30 explicitly include clear retainers as jewelry.

Rules Book References

1-19

"Jewelry shall not be worn. Clear, plastic, or flexible retainers are considered jewelry."

Page 12

Case Book References

A.R. 1-30

Player wearing clear nose stud or retainer must remove it before participation.

Case Book, p. 17

Question 54

During A1's throw-in, their pass inadvertently strikes the arm of Team B's head coach, who was barking out directions and never saw the ball. The officials readminister the throw-in under the original conditions. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

No. A coach interfering with a live ball constitutes a bench technical foul. The ball becomes dead and Team A is awarded a throw-in nearest the interference spot.

Rules Book References

10-6.1.h

"Bench personnel shall not interfere with the ball in play or touch the ball while live."

Page 92

Case Book References

A.R. 10-48

Bench interference by coach touching a live ball—technical foul and Team A throw-in at spot of interference.

Case Book, p. 106

Question 55

Once a defender has obtained a legal guarding position, the defender may move laterally, obliquely, or backward to maintain position, provided such a move is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. Rule 4-37.7 allows a legally established defender to move laterally, obliquely, or backward, but not forward into the opponent, when contact occurs.

Rules Book References

4-37.7

"A defender with a legal guarding position may move laterally, obliquely, or backward to maintain position without causing contact."

Page 48

Case Book References

A.R. 4-38

Confirms lateral/backward movement permitted; forward movement that initiates contact is blocking.

Case Book, p. 53

Question 56

Post player A1 executes a spin move in the lane, ending their dribble on the right foot, stepping and spinning on the left, then returning the right foot while controlling the ball. Traveling violation?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. By ending on the right, pivoting left, and returning the right foot, A1 lifted and returned the pivot foot before release—travel.

Rules Book References

9-5.4.b.2

"A player who lifts the pivot foot and returns it to the floor while holding the ball has traveled."

Page 82

Case Book References

A.R. 9-17

Describes similar spin move resulting in traveling.

Case Book, p. 85

Question 57

A1 commits an offensive foul in their backcourt. Which of the following is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Team B's throw-in will be from a designated spot nearest the foul.
B) Team B's throw-in will be from the nearest of the 'four spots'.
C) The shot clock is set to 30 seconds.
D) The shot clock is set to 20 seconds.

Explanation

Offensive foul = team control foul → no reset to 20 because it's a backcourt foul; designated spot nearest the foul; reset to 30 seconds.

Rules Book References

7-3.2

"Throw-in nearest to where the foul occurred."

Page 70

2-11.6.d

"Backcourt throw-ins reset to 30 seconds; frontcourt to 20."

Page 31

Question 58

In the post, a foul shall be ruled when a player uses a "swim stroke" arm movement to lower the arm of an opponent. Is this correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Yes. Rule 10-12.3 defines illegal use of the arm to dislodge or lower an opponent's arm—commonly the 'swim stroke'.

Rules Book References

10-12.3

"Illegal use of the hands or arms includes using the 'swim stroke' motion to displace an opponent."

Page 99

Case Book References

A.R. 10-30

Specifies a swim-stroke arm motion is a personal foul for displacement.

Case Book, p. 104

Question 59

A1 drives and is fouled in the act of shooting; the ball enters but none of the officials saw it go in. Which is true?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) Replay may not be used.
B) Officials may use replay of their own volition to determine whether the ball entered the basket.
C) Team A's coach may appeal and must be honored.
D) Review must occur before the ball becomes live following the foul.
E) Review must occur within the correctable-error timeframe.

Explanation

Officials may independently use replay to verify whether a scored goal occurred in connection with a called foul, and must do so before the next live ball.

Rules Book References

11-2.1.a.1

"Officials may review whether a try was successful and/or released before expiration of time or foul whistle."

Page 123

11-2.3

"Such review must occur before the ball becomes live following the foul."

Page 125

Question 60

A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1; while A1's try is in flight and after the whistle, A2 fouls B2. A1's try is unsuccessful and Team B is in the bonus. What is correct?

Multiple answers may be correct

A) B1 is assessed a personal foul.
B) A2 is assessed a personal foul.
C) A2 is assessed a flagrant 1 foul because the ball became dead after the whistle.
D) A1 is awarded two free throws with players in marked lane spaces.
E) A1 is awarded two free throws with no occupied lane spaces.
F) B2 is awarded two free throws with players in marked lane spaces.
G) B2 is awarded two free throws with no players in marked lane spaces.
H) Any member of Team B is awarded two free throws.
I) Following the last free throw, play resumes off the make or miss.

Explanation

Because A1 was fouled in the act of shooting (ball in flight) and A2 then fouled B2 after the whistle but before the try ended, both fouls are penalized separately as a false double foul: A1 shoots two FTs, then B2 shoots bonus FTs with no lane spaces.

Rules Book References

4-19.8

"Defines false double foul: fouls by opponents not separated by time of ball becoming live or dead."

Page 47

10-1 Penalty & 8-6.2

"Sequence of penalties: each foul penalized in order of occurrence."

Page 90

Case Book References

A.R. 10-44

Example of false double foul where first is personal during try and second personal during dead ball.

Case Book, p. 107