RefMetrics

NCAA Men's Basketball Rules Test

Review NCAA Men's rules test questions and answers by season.

These tests cover officiating mechanics, procedures, and key rule interpretations.

Select Season
Question 1

A fumble is either an accident or a muff.

A) True
B) False

Explanation

By definition, a fumble is the accidental loss of player control or a muff by a player whose team is in control.

Rules Book References

Rule 4, Section 16 – Fumble

Art. 1

"A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp or is muffed by a player whose team is in control, as when a pass between teammates is not caught cleanly."

Page 52

Rule 4, Section 16 – Fumble

Art. 2

"A fumble may be legally recovered by any player."

Page 52

Case Book References

A.R. 4–11 – Dribble & Fumble/Control

RULING: No. The player is not in control under these conditions and therefore is not dribbling.

Case Book, p. 26

A.R. 4–13 – Airborne Fumble Then Dribble

RULING: It is a violation in both (1) and (2). A1 is permitted to recover the ball, but after recovering the ball, he is not allowed to start another dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1… A1 is allowed to start another dribble.

Case Book, p. 27

A.R. 7–22 – Throw-in Fumble/Designated Spot

RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow the whistle, which causes the ball to become dead and the throw-in to be re-administered.

Case Book, p. 59

Final Ruling: TRUE. The definition expressly includes both accidental loss of control and a muff.
Question 2

A1 is dribbling the ball in its front court and B1 knocks the ball out of bounds below the free throw line extended on the sideline. The officials grant Team A a designated spot throw in on the baseline at the nearest spot three feet outside the lane line. Are the officials correct?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

When the defense knocks the ball out, the throw-in is from the spot where it went out. If it went out on the sideline, it stays on the sideline.

Rules Book References

Rule 7-3 – The Throw-In

Art. 2(a) (Exception)

"…the designated spot for the throw-in will be either the nearest 28-foot mark or the nearest spot 3 feet outside the lane line on the end line. (Exception: When the defensive team has caused the ball to be out of bounds as in Rule 9-2, the throw-in shall be from the spot where the ball went out of bounds.)"

Page 78

Final Ruling: Incorrect. The throw-in should be at the nearest spot on the sideline where the ball went out.
Question 3

A1 has released a try for goal. B1 attempts to jump to block the shot but misses and grabs the ring. A1's try bounces off the backboard and the ball is clearly not going in the basket. B1 while still grasping the ring, grabs the ball. Which is true?

A) B1 has committed an Illegal Assistance violation and Team A should be awarded 2 points.
B) B1 should be assessed a Class B technical foul.
C) B1 has committed an Illegal Assistance violation and Team A should be awarded the ball.

Explanation

Using the ring/backboard to gain a height advantage to touch the ball after the try has ended is Illegal Assistance. The ball is dead and awarded to the opponent; no points are scored.

Rules Book References

Rule 9-16 – Illegal Assistance

Art. 1

"A player may not gain assistance by using any part of the ring, net, backboard or basket support to lift, hold or gain a height advantage in an attempt to: a) Score b) Touch the ball (after a try has ended) in an attempt to secure the ball or c) Block a try for goal"

Page 97

Rule 9-16 – Illegal Assistance

PENALTY

"The ball shall become dead when the violation occurs. In Article 15.1.a the goal shall not count. In 15.1.a and b, the ball is awarded to the opponent for a throw-in at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred using the procedures in Rule 7-3.2. In Article 15.1.c, the offended team shall be awarded the points associated with the try for goal and the ball awarded to the team not credited with the score."

Page 97

Final Ruling: Illegal-assistance violation under 9-16.1(b). Award the ball to Team A at the nearest spot; do not award points.
Question 4

With 11:00 on the clock before the game, Team A supplies a lineup sheet to the official scorer with all the players' names and numbers, and also designates the five starters. The official scorer incorrectly transcribes the starters into the scorebook. The error is discovered five minutes before the game starts. Should Team A be penalized with an administrative technical foul?

A) Yes
B) No

Explanation

Changes after the 10:00 mark are generally illegal—but correcting a scoring or bookkeeping mistake is an explicit exception.

Rules Book References

Rule 10-2.2

b

"After the 10-minute mark is reached on the game clock that is counting down the time before the start of the game and until the end of the game, a team shall not make lineup or roster changes to the scorebook except those changes necessitated by obvious injury, illness, blood on the uniform, a replacement of a designated starter to shoot a technical-foul free throw, or to correct a scoring or bookkeeping mistake."

Page 102

Case Book References

A.R. 3–2 – Late roster/starting lineup presentation

RULING: Team A shall be assessed two administrative technical fouls… (Rules 3-4.2 and 10-2.2.b Penalty).

Case Book, p. 15

Final Ruling: No penalty. Correcting the scorer’s transcription error is allowed under Rule 10-2.2(b).
Question 5

A simultaneous technical foul is when the same team commits two technical fouls at approximately the same time.

A) True
B) False

Explanation

A simultaneous technical foul involves both teams committing technical fouls at approximately the same time.

Rules Book References

Rule 4 – Definitions

Simultaneous technical foul

"A simultaneous technical foul occurs when each team commits a technical foul at approximately the same time, but not by opponents against each other."

Page 52

Final Ruling: FALSE. It requires both teams, not the same team twice.
Question 6

A1 shoots the ball and while the try is in the air, the shot clock horn sounds. While the try is still airborne, the official calls a double foul on A2 and B2. A1's shot is successful. The officials disallow the basket, charge both fouls, and since the double fouls were called while there was no team possession, they award the ball by the alternating-possession arrow. Are the officials correct in the adjudication of this play?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 7

A1 scores a basket with 14 seconds left in regulation. Officials notice A4 is bleeding and stop the game. Team A's head coach elects to replace A4 with A6. Since the clock is now stopped, Team B wishes to substitute B2 with B7. The officials disallow Team B's substitution. Is this correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 8

The referee has the final authority to not permit any piece of equipment to be worn during a game that, in his or her judgment, is dangerous to other players.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 9

Officials arrive at Team A's home arena on campus and discover that one of the shot clocks above the basket is not working. Officials should do which of the following?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 10

A player can still be deemed in the act of shooting before ending the dribble, if the officials believe that the player has begun the motion that normally precedes release of the ball on a try for goal.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 11

When the officials arrive at the game site, the game administrator informs the crew that halftime will be extended by five minutes to allow for a hall of fame induction. Is this permissible?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 12

When a dribbler passes an opponent so that his head and shoulders are beyond the front of the torso of the opponent, the greater responsibility for any subsequent contact shall be that of the opponent.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 13

B1 is guarding A1 who has picked up the dribble. As A1 tries to clear space, A1 contacts B1 in the groin area. Officials rule A1 committed a Flagrant 2 foul, but after replay review they downgrade the foul to a Flagrant 1 because of the nature of the contact. Is this permissible?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 14

With 1:05 left in the second half, A1 is dribbling the ball and guarded by B1. B1 slaps the ball away and the official rules the ball went out of bounds off of B1. The clock continues to run after the whistle was blown. The officials go to the monitor to fix the timing mistake and notice that the ball actually went out of bounds off of A1's leg. Team B is out of timeouts and, therefore, cannot challenge the play. Which of the following are true statements?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 15

A player is injured at the electronic media timeout mark. The electronic media timeout on its own may permit an injured player to remain in the game.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 16

A1 is in the backcourt when he attempts to throw a pass to A2 in the frontcourt. The ball hits an official standing in the frontcourt and rebounds into Team A's backcourt. A1 recovers the errant pass. Is this legal?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 17

A1 is driving to the basket and is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. The calling official rules this a two-shot foul. However, Team A's head coach insists that A1's try for goal was successful. The officials confer with the scorer and no one is sure if the ball went in the basket. Are the officials allowed to use instant replay to see if the ball went in the basket?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 18

When a player is in the air from a leap, or when a defensive player intercepts the ball while in the air, the player's status with reference to these two situations shall be the same as at the time the player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher. Which of the following is true regarding that statement.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 19

Dribbler A1 is near their team's bench area when they begin to lose their balance. Player A2, who is legally in the game, goes out of bounds and, without touching the ball, grabs A1 and prevents them from falling out of bounds. The officials ruled a violation on A2. Is this correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 20

Illegal contact caused by swinging of the elbows that results in contact to the head or neck can be a

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 21

Team B is assessed a technical foul before the start of the game. Team A's head coach wishes to substitute in A6 to shoot the free throws. A6 was not listed as a starter. Is this permissible?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 22

A1 is fouled by B1. As the official is reporting the foul, Team A's band begins to play Team A's fight song. The official assesses Team A an administrative technical foul. Is the official correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 23

A1 and B1 attempt to save a ball from going out of bounds. The official rules that B1 caused the ball to go out of bounds, and Team B's head coach calls a timeout and challenges the ruling. This is Team B's second challenge. While at replay, there is clear and conclusive evidence that the ball was never out of bounds. The officials ruled that this was an inadvertent whistle, and that Team B shall not be charged a timeout, since their challenge was successful. Is this correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 24

At 4:17 in the second half during a dead ball, B2 shoves A2 to the floor. Officials assess B2 a dead ball contact technical foul and report B2's foul to the official scorer. Officials then go to instant replay to confirm the call and upon review notice that A2 had also aggressively shoved B2 just prior to B2's shove. Both players have committed their fifth and disqualifying foul. Are the dead ball contact technical fouls offsetting with both players disqualified?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 25

A1's try for goal is blocked by B1 and the ball goes into Team A's backcourt where the ball is recovered by A1. Which is true?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 26

In guarding a player with the ball, the time and distance required for the defender to establish legal guarding position on the ball handler varies with the speed of the opponent being guarded.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 27

A1 is bringing the ball up the floor in the backcourt. A2 and B2 are called for a simultaneous double technical foul (not dead ball contact). When the ball is put back into play with Team A retaining possession, should Team A be given a new 10-second backcourt count?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 28

With 1:02 left in the game, the officials rule that the ball went off A1 out of bounds and award Team B the ball. Team A's head coach has a challenge left but is out of timeouts. The officials allow Team A to "buy" a timeout at the expense of a two-shot administrative technical foul in order for the coach to challenge the play. Is this permissible?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 29

Does the term "normal basketball play" include incidental contact?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 30

The beginning of a period is when:

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 31

At least one scoreboard in the facility must show team fouls. Is this correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 32

When an official notices a player with behavior that suggests a concussion, what should the official do?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 33

The officials make an out-of-bounds call and rule the ball went off A1, awarding it to Team B. Team A's coach calls a timeout and challenges the play (their first challenge). Upon review, the ball was touched simultaneously by A1 and B1 before going out, and the officials rule a jump ball. The alternating-possession arrow favors Team A. Should Team A be awarded a second challenge for the game?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 34

A player who is fouled before ending his dribble can be deemed in the act of shooting if the official believes that player has started the motion which normally precedes the release of the ball for a shot.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 35

A1 and B1 go after a loose ball and tie it up. Officials call a jump ball and Team A is awarded the ball because the possession arrow favors Team A. The ball is at the disposal of A2 for the throw-in. Before A2 releases the ball for the throw-in, A3 and B3 commit a double personal foul. The officials report the foul, award the ball to Team A for the throw-in and, because of the fouls, instruct the table not to switch the arrow towards Team B once the throw-in ends. Are the officials correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 36

A1 is passing the ball to the post to A2. A2 is being guarded by B2. In an attempt to free himself to receive the pass, A2 posts up with his arms bent at his elbows. Is this legal?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 37

With 0:01 left in a tied game, officials rule the ball went out of bounds off of A1 and award the ball to Team B. Both teams are out of challenges at this time however, the officials notice that a timing mistake may have occurred and are going to use instant replay. While at replay officials notice no timing mistake took place but the ball went out of bounds off of B1. Which of the following is true?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 38

Headbands and wristbands have the same maximum width?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 39

With 0.4 seconds left in regulation in a tie game, A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try. After the horn sounds and before A1 returns to the floor, B2 fouls A1. The officials go to replay and notice A1 had stepped out of bounds with his last foot before becoming airborne for the try. Officials award A1 his free throws because he was still in the act of shooting. Are the officials correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 40

In the first half, Team A is given a book delay warning for reaching through the endline plane during Team B's throw-in. In the second half, A1 reaches through the sideline plane and slaps the ball out of the hands of thrower-in B1. Which is the proper adjudication of this play?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 41

With 1:32 left in the second half, A1 drives the lane attempting to score. B2, a secondary defender standing in the restricted area, slides over to try and draw a charge. A1 goes airborne and releases a try; after release, there is contact. Lead official signals a charging foul on A1. Center official signals a blocking foul on B2 (restricted area). The try is successful. Officials charge both players with a foul, disallow the basket, and award the ball using the alternating-possession arrow. Are the officials correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 42

Team A is involved in a fight and A1 had been ejected for fighting. During the team's next game, A1 plays 2 minutes in the contest. Because A1 failed to serve a suspension, A1 and Team A's head coach are suspended for the team's following contest. Is this correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 43

B1 fouls A1 (B1's fifth personal foul). As B1 walks off the floor, A1 yells at B1 and is called for an unsportsmanlike technical foul. Officials give Team B two free throws for the technical, then give A1 his free throws. After A1 makes his first free throw, it's discovered that the technical foul was actually A1's fifth personal foul, so he should have been disqualified. Which of the following is true?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 44

Team A has the ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. Before the throw-in is complete, A2 fouls B2. The official rules that because the foul was against Team A, the alternating-possession arrow should be switched to Team B. Is this correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 45

Near the expiration of time at the end of the game, A1 attempts a two-point jump shot, releases the ball before time expires, and is fouled after time expires but before returning to the floor. The try is unsuccessful. The officials shall do which of the following?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 46

It is permissable for a headband to be 4" wide

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 47

A fumble may be legally recovered by any player.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 48

Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating possession procedure. Before the throw-in by Team A is completed, a foul is called on Team A. Team A will lose its throw-in opportunity under the alternating-possession procedure as a result of the foul.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 49

A technical foul is assessed to Team B before the start of the game. The coach from Team A wants to replace designated starter A5 with A6 so A6 can shoot the free throws. Is this permissable without penality?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 50

A1, who is designated as a starter 10 minutes before the scheduled start time of the game becomes ill one minute before the game is to start. He is replaced by A6. This is:

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 51

A1 is behind the three point line and passes the ball which is untouched and enters the basket from above and passes through. A 3 point goal shall be counted.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 52

At 10:24 showing on the clock in the first half, one of the shot clocks goes out. The officials continue to play leaving the one operational clocks on. Are the officials correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 53

With 1:26 remaining in the second period the ball is deflected out of bounds. The official awards Team B the ball, but because there were several players involved in the play, the official elects to use the monitor to determine who caused the ball to be out of bounds. Are the officials correct?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 54

A1 attempts a try at Team A's basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the ring, backboard, the flange, or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 55

A1's try for goal is blocked by B1 and the ball goes into Team A's backcourt where the ball is recovered by A1. Which is true?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 56

A1 is in his frontcourt and is fouled by B1 1 foot off the sideline and 10 feet off the endline. Where shall the ball be put in play?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 57

During a rebound from a shot attempt, A3 grabs the ring and reaches out and grabs the ball. This is a class B technical foul.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 58

B1 slips to the floor in the free throw lane. A1 with his back to the basket receives a pass, turns and, in an attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1 who is laying on the floor. Ruling?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 59

It is permissable for wristbands to be 4" wide.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 60

Substitute A6 enters the game and participates. After participating and while still in the game it is discovered he is wearing jewelry. This is a class B technical foul.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 61

Contact to the groin area of an opponent is an automatic flagrant 2 foul

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 62

The penality for excessive timeouts is:

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 63

A1 is advancing the ball in the backcourt with 24 seconds showing on the shot clock. The 10 second count does not reset in which of the following:

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 64

A fumble is either an accident or a muff.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 65

A1 ends their dribble in the lane, is fouled, then takes one more step then shoots. This is a shooting foul.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 66

Games with monitor review, a coach may request a challenge but is not required to have a timeout.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 67

The official scorer fails to record two points awarded to Team A by an official at 12:40 of the first half as a result of basket interference by B2. After halftime the coach of Team A notifies the officials of the error.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 68

A1 attempts a try which hits the ring. A3 then bats the ball into the backcourt and out of bounds. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw in at the spot where the ball went out of bounds.Team B gets a 30 second reset of the shot clock.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 69

The time on the game clock is 15:30 and the shot clock reads 30. A1 shoots the ball with five seconds on the shot clock and the ball does not hit the ring or the flange. Team A recovers the ball and the shot-clock operator, by mistake, resets the shot clock. No one notices the mistake at this time. At 14:55 on the game clock B2 commits a foul against A2. At this point the officials recognize the timing mistake. Ruling:

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 70

A1 scores a field goal and the clock is stopped with 25.2 remaining in the 2nd half. Before the throw-in ends and the clock is started, the officials notice blood on A4. Substitutes B6 and B7 are at the table. After the issue cannot be resolved after 20 seconds the coach for Team A substitutes for A4. The officials allow the substitute for A4 and additionally allow substitutes B6 and B7 in as well. Did the officials adjudicate this procedure correctly?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 71

A1 is called for a holding foul during rebounding action. The officials choose to review the play for a potential flagrant foul. After sending the teams to their benches, all three officials go to the monitor at the same time to review the play. Are the officials using the correct mechanics?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 72

Interfering with the ball after a made basket by the scoring team shall be ignored by the officials.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 73

In transition, or when the crew is spread, the Center official shall beckon all substitutes.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 74

The magic number is defined as the time showing on the game clock when a shot clock possession begins or the time on the game clock when the shot clock possession will expire.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 75

Trail has responsibility for weakside rebounding matchup, specifically pushes in the back where the center is stacked.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 76

Clock management is no longer a point of emphasis.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 77

Consistently having primary whistles on secondary coverage matchups helps to promote trust and teamwork in a crew and leads to more accurate play calling.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 78

A1 passes the ball and it is intercepted by B1 in the frontcourt. After B1 gains control, three seconds elapse and the ball goes out of bounds off B1. Where should the officials set the shot clock on this play?

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 79

When a player loses a shoe during live play, officials shall suspend play once the opponents complete a play, the ball becomes dead, the player's team gains control of the ball, or when there is no immediate shot or drive to basket.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now
Question 80

A1 ends their dribble in the lane, is fouled by B1, then takes one more step and shoots. The ball goes in the basket. This play meets the requirements of the new continuous motion interpretation. Score the basket and award one free throw.

Subscribe to View Answer & Detailed Explanation

Get access to all questions with detailed rule references, case book citations, and comprehensive explanations.

Subscribe Now